Badger Books
Select Currency
US DollarEuroAustralian DollarCanadian DollarPound SterlingNew Zealand Dollar

 Home > Jane Shaw 
Highland Holiday

Highland Holiday

Title: Highland Holiday

Author: Jane Shaw

Publisher: Girl’s Gone By Publishers

Date: 2019

Pages: 216

Format: Paperback

Highland Holiday was originally published in 1942, and is the third in the series about Caroline and Sara, the first two being Breton Holiday and Bernese Holiday. These two were later reissued by Collins under their Children’s Press imprint as Breton Adventure and Bernese Adventure. However, Highland Holiday was never republished.

Highland Holiday is mostly set on Arran and sees a further expansion of the Storm family. We are introduced to Sara’s younger twin brothers, Robin and Rufus, who are at the age where pestering their sister is their favourite pastime. Another new character is Sara’s Uncle Thomas, a scientist who was working in Vienna but is now back in Britain, accompanied by his teenage daughter, Jane, who plays a pivotal part in the story. Unlike the previous stories, in Highland Holiday the War is involved in the plot, although with a typical Jane Shaw stretch of the imagination.

A short story about Caroline and Sara, Sara’s Adventure, was originally published in the Collins’ Girls’ Annual 1953 and later reissued in The Crackerjack Book for Girls, and has been included in this GGBP edition of Highland Holiday.

Our Price: £12.95

« Back

  Dedicated to Selling Collectable Children's Books Site Map  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Privacy & Cookies