Badger Books
Select Currency
US DollarEuroAustralian DollarCanadian DollarPound SterlingNew Zealand Dollar

 Home > Monica Edwards 
Black Hunting Whip

Black Hunting Whip

Title: Black Hunting Whip

Author: Monica Edwards

Publisher: Girls Gone By

Date: 2011

Pages: 271

Format: Paperback

Series: Punchbowl Farm/Romney Marsh series number 6

Black Hunting Whip is the first book in the Punchbowl Farm series although the preceding novel in the series (No Mistaking Corker) featured the same characters but was written before the purchase of Punchbowl Farm. Mrs. Thornton goes to an auction, and to her surprise acquires a ruined farmhouse and seventy wild acres – Punchbowl Farm - just as Monica Edwards had done in real life in 1947. The farm lies in a deep Surrey valley, peeping behind the leaning fruit trees of its orchard. The Thorntons give their hearts to it at once and work hard to make the farm a success. There is much to do, much to be learnt and many difficulties to overcome, for the house is very old and the land is overgrown. As they build for the future they discover fascinating relics of the past. The most exciting of these is Dion's discovery of the diary of a boy, which tells the story of the Black Hunting Whip. They determine to find the whip and to fulfil the boy's wish that it should be carried to victory in the Guildford Show. Their efforts to achieve this lead to a strange and unexpected event.

The GGBP edition has a brand new article by Shelley Edwards (Monica Edwards’ daughter), an introduction by Brian Parks (who has written the Monica Edwards Biography) and a publishing history by John Allsup. This includes illustrations from the story as published in Collins Magazine which differ from those published in the book.

Our Price: £5.00

Sorry, this item is out of stock

« Back

  Dedicated to Selling Collectable Children's Books Site Map  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Privacy & Cookies